Strytllng

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Milla said, on October 21, 2010 at 7:36 am

    What an excellent post! Over the last 6-7 years, I have been very aware of what I eat. I was a vegetarian for 10 years and then when I moved to Japan, I started eating fish and later meat, which I now consume less than 10 times per year. These days I always focus on where my food comes from and how much my consumption affects others. For example, we should try to support local farmers which is not only good for the world (less environmental damage than flying products from here, there and everywhere) but also gives us greater access to seasonal and fresher food, and supports local economy.

    People worry about diseases, general health, ageing, happiness etc but do not see the link between what the consume and how they feel. If you eat crap, you’ll feel crap. There’s no point dressing like a Queen to eat like a dog. Half of what most people eat, I wouldn’t give to an animal! As someone who doesn’t even take an aspirin, I am very conscious about what I put in my body. After all, you are what you eat.

    Oh I could discuss this all day long! Thank you SO much for an intellectual, interesting and relevant post. Easily one of my favourites this year.

    M

    • strytllng said, on October 21, 2010 at 7:43 am

      Milla, thank you sooo much for your comment. These are exactly my concerns. If the supermarket offers 10 different types of apples, there is no need to buy those coming from Peru if local ones are offered. And no, I don’t see why I should have asparagus coming from South Africa in the middle of winter. I may sin sometimes because life doesn’t always give you the chance to prepare fresh foods but I am a salad addicted person and I miss a homemade meal after every single vacation. And NO, I don’t take Aspirin either and if I ever eat fish or meat it is less than 10 times a year as well 😉 Girlfriend, we need to meet someday!

  2. Rain Jacket · said, on November 14, 2010 at 7:47 pm

    i have a very busy lifestyle too, and i would always frequently eat on Fastfoods :,;


Leave a Reply

