Strytllng

Milano Day One

Posted in Fashion Week by strytllng on October 21, 2010

I know it’s been almost four weeks but here are some impressions of my first day in Milano.

After getting up at 4am after only 3.5hours of sleep, it took me almost 3 hours from Malpensa to the hotel, (don’t try public transportation in Milan) my Parisian friends told me that they wouldn’t make it for the next two days because of (surprise) a strike at Paris’ airports and I found myself alone in the fair-weather city. You may have already read that I saw Anna Wintour before arriving at the hotel. When I got there, I changed into something comfortable and just kept on walking to explore the city. Without a map or guide, I arrived in front of the Duomo and the famous Scala where I simply inhaled the atmosphere and went for a little window shopping. I found it amazing how few people speak English and how far a trained repertoire of body language might get you when trying to shop in small stores, where I bought my Italian dinner (local-grown fruits, ciabatta, cheese and…mmmhhh…huge olives) and the best chocolate ice-cream I had to date. Can you believe the big selection of olive oil? Always a favorite when I am on vacation: a trip to the supermarkets. I finished the day early with a Jane Austen novel and slept for at least 12 hours before I got up for another beautiful day in Milan. It was all my tired aching body could have asked for that day.

 

 

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. stylestruck said, on October 21, 2010 at 8:29 am

    i enjoyed reading every word.
    good post and photos!

    • strytllng said, on October 21, 2010 at 8:37 am

      I guess sometimes few words can paint the picture as well?! Thank you.

  2. stylestruck said, on October 21, 2010 at 11:31 pm

    yeah, i agree. a job well done. prego ;]


Leave a Reply

