Strytllng

Favorite Culinary Season

Posted in Food by strytllng on May 9, 2011

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It is here, it is here!!!! The first asparagus has arrived. Not only am I head over heels with this multifaceted vegetable and its fresh sweet taste but it is also the season to see my Granny every Sunday. It’s been a tradition for years and I can hardly wait for Sunday to come. We usually go for the white kind with a Hollandaise, ham and potatoes – nothing special but always perfection. But for my own self, I tried my first experiment with green asparagus.

Here is what I did:

I fried two hands full of green asparagus with one garlic clove for about two minutes, infused it with about two glasses of white vine afterwards, and had it on a low flame for the next ten minutes until the vine vanished. Mix it with red mache salad, tomatoes, roasted sesame seeds, spring onions and a simple olive oil and a balsamic vinegar dressing. Top the best salad for a fan of asparagus with parmesan if you like. MMMhhh…

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. notmsparker said, on May 9, 2011 at 12:26 pm

    I cannot judge the quality of the dish until I have tasted it:)) When´s it going to be served again?

  2. miggy said, on May 11, 2011 at 9:44 am

    looks like heaven!
    xx

    • strytllng said, on May 11, 2011 at 9:53 am

      Did it a second time and I can say now: it really is heavenly. (So easy to do.)


Leave a Reply

