Strytllng

Hien Le ::: SS 2012

Posted in Fashion Week, Uncategorized by strytllng on July 29, 2011


Hien Le’s first show on the catwalk at Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week Berlin can only be called a huge success. From the unisex concept of material and coloring for his men and women line, Hien Le made my Fashion Week-tired eyes glow with joy again. Not only am I in love with his effortless tailoring and the minimalistic approach which are his signature look but the designer born in Laos dedicated this collection to his grandfather, a tailor himself during French-colonial, Laos. This Berlin fashion genius has the art of a perfect dress in his genes, arranges colors perfectly without imitating trends and integrates the history of his family into this beautiful collection. I have to applaud Hien Le for creating a Spring Summer 2012 collection that has a lot of soul – something the industry needs so desperately.

Allow me a very personal note: I met Hien Le a little over a year ago when he presented his collection at Collect Showroom. He is the nicest designer I ever met. When I ran into him at the Wood Wood show on Thursday, he was the epitome of calm (imagine you are presenting just two days later  for the first time in front of a big audience) and asked me if I am coming to see his show. Hien was so sweet as to remember me. VERY nice, talented & skilled and loving his grandparents – WOW. (All of my friends know my grandma is my very favorite.) That’s exactly why I named him one of my favorite designers from Berlin in my interview with ELLE.fr right before his show. (Just look at those perfect shorts!)

Remember this name as you will read more about him in the big papers: HIEN LE

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. notmsparker said, on July 29, 2011 at 7:06 am

    I will take ANYTHING from his lines, men’s or women’s. Agree with you: the man is a magician with scissors in his hand.
    When will ELLEN run the interview?

  2. notmsparker said, on July 29, 2011 at 7:08 am

    ELLE. The bloody text editor in the mobile:)

  3. strytllng said, on July 29, 2011 at 7:35 am

    Oh…it came out last week…while you were on your vacation.


Leave a Reply

